Wk15 -Artist Conversation – Brittany Waters

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Exhibition Information

Artist: Brittany Waters

Exhibition: Jewelry Arts

Media: Ceramics

Gallery:  West Gatov Gallery

Website: N/A

Instagram: artbywaters

About the Artist and Formal Analysis

Brittany Waters is a senior here at California State University of Long Beach and she is pursuing her BFA in Ceramics. She was exposed and doing arts and crafts ever since she was young in Sacramento. She’s thankful for her father whom provided her markers and color pencils to draw with. She plans on continuing her work in ceramics after college and hopefully travels around the country.

Content Analysis and My Experience

The exhibition was similar to my blog post with Kelvin Lopez since the gallery consisted of work from different people so it took me a while to figure out who owns/represents certain area of the gallery. I also noticed everything had a price tag, I suppose artists have got to make money by selling their creation. I noticed that Brittany’s art was mostly blue; she explained her favorite color is blue and mainly works with it, she even added that she loves her last name “Waters” because it is also associated with blue. And I concur, my favorite color is blue as well mainly because it gives me a sense of peace and tranquility when I look at the ocean or rather look at a painting with mostly blue on it – it is just nice and relaxing.

She mainly focused her work on nature, specifically ocean and turtles. Coming here to Long Beach provided her a huge inspiration to continue her work. She chose several colors that associates with beaches or piers such as blue, green, turquoise, and many more. I had a great experience and enjoyed looking at her work. I love her work and her use of the color blue for a sense of tranquility. It was good to see her and to see soothing crafts around such a stressful week – the week before finals!

Leave a Reply

